What if…Resident Evil on Sega Mega CD

Resident Evil Sega Mega CD

Having got my own Sega Mega CD II operational I have finally sampled this often criticised add-on for the more beloved Sega Mega Drive (Sega Genesis) and I have to say I am beginning to understand it’s critics’ complaints. The fact you have to have two massive plugs (one for the Mega Drive and one for the Mega CD) is a real pain but not one that prevents playing.

I have only played a handful of games so far so I am not going to make a general opinion of the system yet.  What I will say is I have already played two bloody good games, namely Keio Flying Squadron and Final Fight, and one really bad game – the dreaded FMV game Slam City. So from this small sample what is my view? Well so far I get the feeling that the best games on the Mega CD were actually the ones that wouldn’t look out of place on the bog standard Mega Drive but enjoy the CD quality sound.

Splatterhouse II
Splatterhouse II

It made me think about what Playstation games might have saved the Mega CD and made it more beloved and I concluded that one game that would have catapulted the system would have been something like Resident Evil.

Now – don’t bother putting in the comments section that the Mega CD would not be able to handle the demands of a complex game such as Resident Evil. I know the Mega CD didn’t have the processing power but that doesn’t mean we couldn’t have had a 2D side scrolling game like the brilliant Splatterhouse spliced with animated FMV scenes to tell the story of the evil Umbrella Corporation’s experiments.

This was my inspiration to make this cover; to give a glimpse of what that might have looked like. The case is Snatcher the image of which I have removed and replaced with the Resident Evil logo coupled with developer logos.

Author: Tony Wilkins

When Man entered the atomic age, he opened a door into a new world. What we’ll eventually find in that new world, nobody can predict.

Leave a Reply

