I ain’t afraid of no ghost!

Ghostbusters t-shirtFor the past five years my sister has taken it upon herself to get me a T-shirt for my birthday but not just any old one…Oh no. Every year she has sent me a T-shirt that depicts something from our childhood. I think it started as a way to embarrass me but since I have no concept of shame anymore I have embraced this tradition and look forward to what she sends.

This year she has sent me something from what is my all-time favourite movie; Ghostbusters. I adore this film so much. I even love the often loathed sequel – I really don’t think it is as bad as people make it out to be.

Ghostbusters really represents a more innocent time for me. I was about 6 when the sequel hit the theatres and with the success of the animated series at that time it was probably at the height of its popularity. I remember having all the toys and playing with them as I made my own adventures up in my mind and I had no worries in the world. Oh how I long for another feeling like that.

Maybe that’s the appeal of nostalgia; to break away in to an almost childlike existence once again where you escape the drudge of reality? Boy this is getting deep.

Anyway, thanks Sis for another T-shirt to add to the collection.

Author: Tony Wilkins

When Man entered the atomic age, he opened a door into a new world. What we’ll eventually find in that new world, nobody can predict.

5 thoughts on “I ain’t afraid of no ghost!”

  1. I think you are right about nostalgia. I think it is also helped by the fact that we tend to view our childhood with rose coloured spectacles. We forget a lot of the minor worries that, when we are adults, we just cannot afford to ignore.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Perhaps John should call you up with his ghost stories! I remember my childhood fondly, it was noting particularly special but seemed to be full of long hot summers and playing out till all hours with my friends. We did things we shouldn’t have done and looking back it’s a wonder I’m still here. But they were good days – even though the world almost ended!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

