Video Game Archaeology Blog #7 – The Man-Corner

Sega Mega Drive Genesis Master System SNES
HANG ON – It’s the Man-Corner (is that my ironing reflected in the screen? Better get back to it I suppose)

Well it was going to have to happen eventually. With a Master System joining the Mega Drive/CD and the SNES it was getting a little crowded under the TV in the living room. My suggestion to the wife of throwing out the Sky TV box didn’t go down too well because she would miss Keeping up with the Kardashians (yeah I don’t understand the appeal either) so the only alternative was to take out my consoles and put them in another room.

This of course presented its own problems namely where they were going to go and what TV they were going to be hooked up to. The most obvious place would be the bedroom but since our bedroom is already bulging with clutter the wife suggested the corner of the kitchen. Brilliant! That way I can still indulge in a bit of retrogaming in my free time and be on hand for the wife if she becomes ill.

1
How it used to look in the living room

So I had the consoles and the games but no TV and just as crucially no TV stand. Ah but alas my wife was already on it for she had decided we needed a new TV stand in the living room and informed her mother who promptly bought “us” a new one for Christmas freeing up the old one. So not only did the consoles relocate in to the kitchen but the TV stand did as well.

So all that remained was the TV. Now, flat screen TVs are ten-a-penny these days providing you don’t want 3D HD with HDMI input and a whole host of other abbreviations. However, they aren’t always the best for playing old consoles on. This was especially true for my Mega Drive which for some reason really didn’t like the modern TV in the living room. What I needed was an old cathode ray tube (CRT) set which was what these consoles were designed to be played on.

CRT old TV
The original CRT TV 

We used to have one in my daughter’s room for her to watch films on but it got put away so I ventured in to the wardrobe where I was attacked by a number of teddies, books and other small items from on high before I retrieved said-TV. After nearly busting a gut lumping the thing downstairs and taking it in to the kitchen I hooked it all up and waited with baited breath.

What I got instead was a black and white picture. Yes, it seemed that the TV objected to having been pulled out of retirement and decided to not work properly if at all. Frustration caused me to curse my luck quite loudly. There was nothing that could be done for the TV and it was time to retire it to the TV cabinet in the sky.

I therefore turned to Facebook and one of those local buy/sell groups. I put out a message asking if anyone was selling an old style TV and was soon contacted by a rather nice chap from nearby Chepstow who had one. All he asked for it was that I go and get it – result! So I drove the fifteen minutes to Chepstow (and spent another fifteen minutes walking up and down the street trying to find his house) and picked it up. I brought it home and Le voilà! The man-corner was up and running.

Now I just need something to sit on…

 

 

Author: Tony Wilkins

When Man entered the atomic age, he opened a door into a new world. What we’ll eventually find in that new world, nobody can predict.

4 thoughts on “Video Game Archaeology Blog #7 – The Man-Corner”

Leave a Reply

