Happy Birthday To An Old Friend

Sonic the hedgehop mega drive genesis master system sega
My copies of the Mega Drive and Master System versions of Sonic the Hedgehog

A certain blue hedgehog turns 25 years old today if you can believe it. Yes, it’s been 25 years since Sonic the Hedgehog burst on to the scene and gave Sega the Mario-rivalling mascot it so desperately needed.

I remember my first time playing the original Sonic on a friend’s Mega Drive. At the time I was still in Master System land waiting for the 8-bit port to rear it’s head all the while being bombarded by Sega’s aggressive marketing campaign for their 16-bit console which of course featured the blue hedgehog himself. I think that day I was more taken with the hype than the actual game and to be honest even today I don’t think the first Sonic game is all that special. Sonic 2 on the other hand, in my humble opinion, finally gave that feeling of speed that had always been promised and it remains my favourite 16-bit Sonic game.

Being more of a Master System fan my thoughts on the 8-bit ports of the games are quite positive. The Master System Sonic the Hedgehog is a good platformer with responsive controls, decent graphics and fairly good music. Sonic the Hedgehog 2 on the Master System is a bloody good 8-bit game which if I was honest I consider better than the first Sonic on the Mega Drive.

But that’s just my opinion.

Time hasn’t been too kind to old Sonic. After the Mega Drive days he never seemed to recapture his former glory while Mario and friends continued to flourish. Eventually, the two great rivals started appearing in sports games together and both me and my daughter frequently put our inter-family Sega/Nintendo rivalry to good use playing the Mario & Sonic Olympic games on the Wii and WiiU.

Happy birthday old boy.

 

 

Author: Tony Wilkins

When Man entered the atomic age, he opened a door into a new world. What we’ll eventually find in that new world, nobody can predict.

1 thought on “Happy Birthday To An Old Friend”

Leave a Reply

